Are we live? Live.com Opinion

March 29, 2006

Some weeks ago, Microsoft launched it's new version of Live.com. I've had a bit of time to check it out, and having an MSN email account with the Live Mail Beta (social pressures, I swear!) I thought it wise to see what they had to offer.

Nothing original, really.

Widgets on a page, that you can move around (which is pretty nice, I admit), it's basically an Ajax RSS reader. Wowwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

The search seems sucky to me. I absolutely hate the layout, maybe that's because I'm used to Google, but the frame? Jeeze Louise. It seriously does my nut in. I shall not be using it until they improve the search at least..

Mail.Live.com is OK. I mean, it's OWA (Outlook Web Access) with a little Ajax thrown in for good measure. I can't see the orginiality, maybe it's what we have (should?) come to expect from Microsoft.

Please don't take away from this post that I am a Microsoft hater. I think they have done alot to bring the computing market to the home consumers. But their approach to technologies, ideas and implimentation of those ideas seems to fall short nearly every time.

Links:

http://www.live.com

http://mail.live.com

http://www.microsoft.com

technorati tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Are we live? Live.com Opinion”


  1. […] Good Search – A Breakthrough In Retained Executive SearchV6 Engineers-Quick Smart PreciseTwo Point 0 […]


Leave a Reply

